The Rotary Club of Bainbridge Island awarded the 2018 Rotary Scholarships at its meeting on May 7, 2018.  13 scholarships were awarded to Bainbridge Island High School seniors and Island residents.

10 scholarships were awarded for Community Service to recognize high school seniors for their significant volunteer contributions to the community. 3 Career / Technical Scholarships were awarded to those pursuing a specific career goal to recognize and encourage interest in careers which do not require a college degree.
“We had another outstanding group of 29 applicants for the Community Service Scholarships this year.  We are proud of the achievements of all of the applicants,” said Scholarship Committee Chair Christy Givans. “It is always difficult to select our Scholarship recipients.”
The 2018 Rotary Scholarships recipients are:
•  Jennifer Allen
•  Rose Bandrowski
•  Mallory Browne
•  Emma Gace
•  Jack Rusher
•  Anna Scott
•  Stella Streufert
•  Kathryn Wangthamkua
•  Max Weber
•  Olivia Zacharia
•  Toni Konig
•  Bryn Morgan-Ness
•  Joe Talavera
Max Weber was recognized as the Jay Mitchell Memorial Scholar.  The Jay Mitchell Memorial Scholar is named for long time Rotarian, Jay Mitchell, member of the Club’s Scholarship Committee for many years, who passed away during this past year. Jay made many significant contributions to the Club during his tenure, and we are pleased to honor both the recipient and Jay this way.
The Rotary Club has a long history of awarding scholarships since 1957. In the last 10 years, the Rotary Club has awarded 101 Community Service Scholarships and 13 Career / Technical Scholarships.
Click here for the full press release.